skip navigation »

they incorporate their varied musical experience into a style of jazz that sounds unique… One of DC area's best units.George M. Bruhl,

News & Events

Rick Whitehead: Notes From Home (Solo Jazz Guitar)

August 5, 2006
RSS 2.0 Feed Feed icon


Notes From Home (closeup of Rick playing)Rick Whitehead’s new CD finds the veteran Washington area jazz guitarist in his element, literally and figuratively. Recorded at his home in Northern Virginia, the album is devoted to pop and jazz standards arranged for solo guitar in ways that are intimate, intricate and consistently inspired.

While some of the pieces are quiet enchantments, others, including Cole Porter’s “I Love You” and Antonio Carlos Jobim’s “Wave” and “One Note Samba,” are distinguished by a more aggressive rhythmic attack. The frequent contrasts keep lulls at bay and enhance an album that’s likely to be savored by any fan of solo jazz guitar.

Whitehead’s chords are luscious and his speed and ingenuity are incredible!

Purchase from CD Baby

Track List:

  1. Isn’t it Romantic
  2. Polka Dots and Moonbeams
  3. Wave
  4. Sophisticated Lady
  5. Secret Love
  6. They Can’t Take That Away From Me
  7. Come Rain or Come Shine
  8. I Love You
  9. My One and Only Love
  10. One Note Samba
  11. We’ll Be Together
  12. Have You Met Miss Jones
  13. Blues in the Closet
  14. Stars Fell on Alabama

Music Copyright 2006 L.I.C. Recordings